Church of St. Francis of Assisi
San Francesco d'Assisi 1 - Fine Art Produzioni


The church of St. Francis of Assisi, with the adjoining convent of the Friars Minor Conventuali, is one of the most fascinating in Enna. Built in 300, it has been completely renovated over the centuries. It is inserted into the old building that belonged to the powerful feudal Chiaramonte family. The whole building rises from a stone base with sloping walls, which gives the appearance of a fortress rather than a temple of prayer. The façade, adorned with round arches and ribs, shows Gothic windows and is enhanced by the imposing bell tower, dating from the fifteenth century, which was derived from the original defensive tower and renovated from 1588. Inside the building, namely in the left wing, is the church which is accessed through a wide staircase from the square, leads to a wide courtyard. The solar atrium, today features nearly all blind arches. The church develops into a nave with three altars per wall. When first entering, on the left you can admire the painting of the Adoration of the Magi by the Flemish painter Simone de Wobreck. In the basement of the Church is a characteristic crypt dug in the rock, which is worth a visit.

 

 

Via Vittorio Emanuele, 94100 Enna (EN)
Tel. 0935 500941
Open in the morning and during religious.

 

 

  Click to listen highlighted text! The church of St. Francis of Assisi, with the adjoining convent of the Friars Minor Conventuali, is one of the most fascinating in Enna. Built in 300, it has been completely renovated over the centuries. It is inserted into the old building that belonged to the powerful feudal Chiaramonte family. The whole building rises from a stone base with sloping walls, which gives the appearance of a fortress rather than a temple of prayer. The façade, adorned with round arches and ribs, shows Gothic windows and is enhanced by the imposing bell tower, dating from the fifteenth century, which was derived from the original defensive tower and renovated from 1588. Inside the building, namely in the left wing, is the church which is accessed through a wide staircase from the square, leads to a wide courtyard. The solar atrium, today features nearly all blind arches. The church develops into a nave with three altars per wall. When first entering, on the left you can admire the painting of the Adoration of the Magi by the Flemish painter Simone de Wobreck. In the basement of the Church is a characteristic crypt dug in the rock, which is worth a visit.     Via Vittorio Emanuele, 94100 Enna (EN) Tel. 0935 500941 Open in the morning and during religious.    

 

 

 


BOOKING ONLINE

Scopri le strutture ricettive con il marchio di qualità del Distretto e riservati il posto migliore.

Prenota Online

Tourcoupon

Scopri le offerte pensate per te.

Prenota Online